Founded in 1957, Wesleyan University Press quickly established itself as one of the nation’s outstanding scholarly publishers of interdisciplinary work in the humanities and poetry. Over its lengthy history, it has published exceptional works of scholarship as well as books of wide interest to general readers. The Press has garnered national and international accolades for its work, including six Pulitzer Prizes, three National Book Awards, two National Book Critics Circle Awards, three Griffin Poetry Prizes, and an Anisfield-Wolf Award, among many others. Our authors include prominent artists, thinkers and writers, such as John Cage, Norman O. Brown, M.C. Richards, Samuel R. Delany, Joy Harjo, James Wright, James Tate, Peter Gizzi, Brenda Hillman, Rae Armantrout, Yusef Komunyakaa, M. NourbeSe Philip, Sally Banes, Ralph Lemon, and Tricia Rose.

Wesleyan publishes approximately twenty new books each year, primarily in the fields of music, dance, and the arts, including 6-8 titles each year in poetry.  Since 1957, the Press has published over 1,500 books, nearly 1,000 of which are still in print, and has distributed over 3.5 million books—all bearing the WUP imprint—across the world.

Wesleyan University Press is an integral part of Wesleyan University and shares its goal of disseminating knowledge and culture, contributing to Wesleyan’s academic prominence through its array of scholarly and creative inquiry. All Wesleyan University Press books undergo a rigorous peer-review process and must be approved by a faculty editorial board before publication, ensuring their content meets the highest criteria for excellence.

Wesleyan University Press furthers the mission of Wesleyan University by publishing works of scholarly and creative excellence of lasting value, including original works of poetry and groundbreaking interdisciplinary studies in the arts and humanities. Our books speak to a diverse community of readers who think critically and creatively and who value independence of mind and generosity of spirit.

Wesleyan titles are distributed by Hopkins Fulfillment Services.